NPP affirms new Majority leadership as Afenyo-Markin takes over

The National Council of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has officially sanctioned Alexander Afenyo-Markin, Member of Parliament for Effutu, as the Majority Leader in Parliament. This decision comes after a recent clarification of parliamentary procedures, aligning with the Speaker’s ruling on the selection process.

The endorsement occurred during a meeting presided over by NPP’s General Secretary, Justin Kodua Frimpong. This gathering, which included members of the Majority Caucus, deliberated on recommendations from the National Executive Committee regarding leadership reshuffling.

Also Read: Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu’s resignation address [Read]

The General Secretary presented these recommendations, endorsed by the Majority Caucus, to the National Council, which convened at the Alisa Hotel in Accra for approval. This process adheres to guidelines outlined in Order 6 of the Standing Orders of Parliament (2024), as clarified by Speaker Alban SK Bagbin.

According to the new order, the selection of leaders will involve MPs and political parties to ensure a balance between internal party democracy and parliamentary norms. The Speaker will formally announce the leadership changes in Parliament upon receipt of a detailed letter from the NPP General Secretary confirming the adjustments.

Outgoing Majority Leader Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu will deliver a farewell statement, marking the conclusion of his tenure. In a ceremonial transition, Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, along with Adansi Asokwa MP KT Hammond, will officiate the installation of Alexander Afenyo-Markin as the new Majority Leader.

Mr. Afenyo-Markin will then outline his vision and commitments in his inaugural address.

The newly appointed leadership team for the Majority Front Bench, as recommended by the NEC, includes:

  • Majority Leader: Alexander Afenyo-Markin, MP for Effutu
  • Deputy Majority Leader: Patricia Appiagyei, MP for Asokwa
  • Majority Chief Whip: Frank Annoh Dompreh, MP for Nsawam/Adoagyiri
  • First Deputy Majority Chief Whip: Habib Iddrisu, MP for Tolon
  • Second Deputy Majority Chief Whip: Alex Tetteh Djornobuah, MP for Sefwi Akontombra

Also Read: Perfect Combi by King Promise Ft Gabzy (Download)

Following Afenyo-Markin’s address, members from both sides of the House are expected to express their support, demonstrating unity in Ghana’s parliamentary governance.

This reshuffle, in accordance with the Speaker’s interpretation and the Standing Orders, marks a significant step towards ensuring that Ghana’s parliamentary leadership reflects democratic and legal principles.

The transition in leadership is anticipated to usher in a new phase of parliamentary operations, with the refreshed NPP team poised to lead the country’s legislative proceedings and national development initiatives.

Talented blogger who is known for her engaging and insightful content. Her writing is characterized by its clarity, creativity, and authenticity, making her blog a must-read for people who are interested in a wide range of topics. Vera is an excellent storyteller who is able to captivate her readers with her compelling narratives. She has a talent for bringing her ideas to life through vivid descriptions and colorful language, which allows her readers to fully immerse themselves in her stories.

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here